TNNY

Overall Haul

jeansWhen I think of overalls, I remember the time I was in second grade and wore overalls with a maroon shirt. I walked into Gap with my mom, and unbeknownst to us, we were matching. (I honestly do not know how we didn’t notice until then.) That was a fun experience. Obviously it was an important day in my life because I remember it so vividly. Then, overalls disappeared.

It is 2013, soon to be 2014, and overalls have returned. And oh man have they come back with a vengeance. The overall style ranges from the classic pair, to overall shorts, to overall miniskirts , so on and so forth. Many, many people are unable to pull off this look, but there is always an exception to the rule. That exception is this young woman, casually looking like a supermodel at Fashion Week.

What I originally noticed was how confident she looked in this outfit. And confidence is a key factor to rocking a crazy look. She looks casual, comfortable, and extremely hipster. This young woman paired the overall-shorts with a pale almost-on-the-verge-of chartreuse slouch T, gold clutch, see-through snapback (or snapfront?) thin belt, and strappy stilettos that scream “classy summer”. This look mixes a wide variety of styles, and yet it totally works! She accessorizes with some shear-lilac, cat eye sunglasses and the essential accessory for this venue…a camera. This look works. Really, really well too.

Fortunately for me, my mother has good style, so when she wears an awesome outfit, I genuinely enjoy copying it. And wearing her clothing. Without telling her. So maybe we will start matching again…Is 18-going-on-19 too old for that?

Leave a Reply

