TNNY

BYU Guru: Hair 102

389907_507879755907431_1346206435_n

Hair is kind of a big deal. Though it shouldn’t be the defining feature of a man or woman, it is always fun (and sometimes necessary) to do a little hair care. My main gal Eliza (The BYU Beauty Guru) is yet again gracing my blog to help make the world of hair a better place.

What are the best hair products?

There are a couple different brands that I would say are great for any type of hair.  First It’s a Ten, Davines (Absolute Beautifying Potion (oil)), Aveda. “It’s a Ten” products are a little pricey though but SO worth it, same with Davines. If you’re on a budget, Herbal Essences has some really good products for all hair types, curly to straight!

For curly hair…

Well I know you (Micayla) use Dove Nourishing Curls Whipped Cream Mousse and say it works great. *Micayla-it does!*

For straighter hair…

I live in Utah now, where the weather is dry. My hair is straighter and I refuse to be seen with frizz and without shine-I firmly believe in Moroccan Oil or Argon Oil (any brand). It helps keep your hair glossy and reduces frizz which is great.

Your hair always has volume though! Doesn’t dry weather make hair a bit limp?

Well here’s my trick. After showering, I towel dry and then put a little bit of Herbal Essences Volumizing Mousse in. Give it a scruch and let it dry!

579760_507880312574042_669575425_n

Do you believe in “natural” products?

Um, that’s debatable. I know there are some great natural brands that eliminate silicones and sulfates, but they tend to be extremely overpriced. I don’t think you need to use natural products to have better hair. What I would say is to avoid really cheap hair products, those tend to damage your hair more than clean it.

How do you get your natural, beachy look? Any specific techniques you use to get effortless waves?

Ok first tip, and probably the most important: AIR DRY. Do not blow dry. Also, a great product to get waves is Bumble and Bumble Surf Spray. Let me tell you my daily routine, maybe that will help?

Shower, obviously. Hygiene is important. Towel dry my hair for 5 minutes. Pump 5-7 squirts of “It’s a Ten Miracle Leave-In”.  Then, I put in the Herbal Essences volumizing mousse (sometimes), and let my hair air dry until it’s about 70% dry. Then to give a little extra shine to the ends of my hair, I put Moroccan oil on last ¼ of my hair. It seems like a lot, but it actually takes no time at all!

Hair myths that need to be busted?

People seem to think that you need to wash your hair every day. You don’t have to. Let some of the natural oils return to your hair!

Any trending hair styles that are in in in?

THE BOB. Edgy bangs are big too. But they have always been chic because they’re a bit unexpected. Soft, beachy curls (can be achieved by using a 2.5 inch curling iron!) aka the natural look. Love that one.

Photo Credit: Patricia Layde

Leave a Reply

