TNNY

Mind on the Midi

My love affair with midi dresses and skirts started the day my much-too-short swing dress was blown upwards during a normal crossing on the corner of Broadway and Prince St. It was awful by the way, if you didn’t already figure that out. I think I was wearing a nude thong? Who knows. Oh wait, maybe just the HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WHO SAW IT HAPPEN.

So yeah, I love midi-length garments now. But not just because they ensure a sneak-peek free crossing on Broadway. Here are my four reasons for loving the midi this summer:

1. Nobody can tell me that my dress or skirt is too short. The baby boomers aren’t really big fans of the micro-mini look if you know what I mean. (Also, for somebody with a butt (like myself), wearing mini dresses is never a good idea. I guess I should have known better.)

2. It’s a good substitute for the maxi dress. It’s not that I dislike the maxi dress, but let’s be honest, on a hot day, I don’t really want to be wearing a floor length dress. And it’s fun to switch things up a bit!

3. The midi length is timeless. Whether it’s a skirt or dress, this length has an elegance and sophistication that I have not seen before. I know that sounds silly, but the ‘reserve’ factor of the midi makes the look mature. There’s something sexy about leaving most of your body to the imagination, and I guess the midi dress/skirt does that!

4. It works for both day and night! Here is a quickie example:

Now, I don’t shop at Forever 21 often, but my favorite midi dress of the moment was found within the depths of a rack of black dresses at the Forever 21 in Union Square.

By day, I might wear this Mesh Moment Midi Dress with a pair of strappy sandals, such as these Jack Wills Leather Lazenby Sandals. I may add a simple necklace or aviators. first

At night, I might pair this dress with a simple heel, such as the Schutz Floralite in oyster. Or if I’m feeling beachy, maybe I’d wear it with a wedge, like these Lilly Pulitzer Kate Espadrille. Depending on the event, I might even break out the red lipstick and a chunky necklace, such as this New Look Nude Stone Collar Necklace.

two

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit: items are in links and (http://www.rayban2015.com/images/pro/Ray-Ban-RB3025-Aviator-Sunglasses-49.png, http://img4-2.realsimple.timeinc.net/images/daily-finds/beauty/0209/mac-russian-red_300.jpg,http://us.asos.com/Needle-Thread-Era-Midi-Dress/12g1il/?iid=3541563&SearchQuery=midi%20dress&sh=0&pge=0&pgesize=204&sort=-1&clr=Nudechalk&mporgp=L05lZWRsZS1UaHJlYWQvTmVlZGxlLVRocmVhZC1FcmEtTWlkaS1EcmVzcy9Qcm9kLw..)

Leave a Reply

